top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNorthwesternDining

Unplugged Holidays! A good way to usher in 2021

By Katherine Touhy, first-year Northwestern theatre major


Katherine Touhy, first-year NU theatre major

Early one evening, around the holidays, I fell onto my wrist and lost mobility in my fingers and right hand. The radiologist determined it was a "distal radius fracture."


In terrible pain, my mind fixated on all the things I couldn't do. Three days in, with an itchy arm cast and immobilizing splint, I had already binge-watched two seasons of the Crown on Netflix and had drained my entire stash of dark chocolate. I needed to pivot quickly.


A few weeks prior, I saw the new Netflix documentary, The Social Dilemma. The incredible film highlights our severe generational dependence on technology, especially now, in COVID times.

One tech expert compares our phones to a lottery ticket, making it impossible not to see what's beyond the home screen.


This resonated with me because I refresh my Instagram or email every couple of minutes. I found myself unable to read, watch full-length movies, or eat without checking for new notifications. Right before and after I showered, I'd check Snapchat. And, walking to and from destinations, I'd be checking messages or searching for new podcasts or recipes.


It was time to unplug.

I decided to surrender my phone for a week, and it was a bit life-changing. On the first morning, with no phone, I unconsciously reached for my device. Now second nature, I’d shut my alarm immediately to see what happened in everyone else's lives over the 8 hour period. I was 'absent” on my phone. I was uninterrupted by last night's breaking news and late-night posts. I felt almost too calm.


It was time to get exercise. Except, no phone meant no music. At first, it was hard to get my foot out the door for my run without any tunes or podcast. When I finally did, about 500 steps in (guessing, because no phone to count!), my relaxed mind fueled each footstep.


Also, meals soon became more enjoyable. Rather than a screen, my eyes paid attention to each bite. I started focusing on the colors, textures and tastes of my meals. I also became aware of my hunger cues and cravings. Most importantly, I wasn't comparing my meals to a stranger on Instagram who has an opposite nutritional profile than me.


The only major negative was the inability to reach friends easily. I lasted two full days with zero contact, and then I gave in and allowed FaceTime through my computer.


Unplugging, however brief, was a good thing. I recommend it.

For the first time, I had to think for myself, beyond the limitations of what thoughts my phone advertises. My actions reflected my feelings, separate from anyone else's. My fashion felt personal, and my food felt satisfying. I was thinking about what I actually wanted each day, feeling happier and more fulfilled.


As we enter a new year, I plan to work on my overly dependent and sometimes toxic relationship with my phone and I encourage you to do so, too.

With the COVID-19 pandemic still around, we know we will have to rely on virtual experiences, and developing healthy technology habits is imperative.


Here are 3 lessons I learned from my unplugged challenge – ones I plan to carry into 2021:


Wake up the right way

Since the beginning of the pandemic (and prior), my morning routine consisted of breaking news, way too many Tik Toks, late-night texts, and unfinished tasks. Now, instead of focusing on other peoples' lives, I started focusing on my own. I now start my day motivated and clear of yesterday's anxieties: fresh faced and fresh minded. Consider waking up with a real alarm clock instead of a cell phone alarm.


Less screen time, more real-time

My average daily screen time this year was hard to face. I sometimes spent 1⁄3 of my day on the phone. That’s a whopping 6 hours (if I’m rounding down). I now average about 2 hours, and I’m hoping to keep it that way. I kick-started my 2021 New Year resolution to read more books (I recommend Matthew McConaughey's new book: Greenlights). Reading a book, especially one you can hold in your hand, is a great way to calm the mind.


I also found with fewer interruptions, I’ve been more focused and grounded, less insecure about my actions or comparing them to another person. I began to sing, socialize, and educate myself free of outside noise, finding much more joy and fulfillment in these activities. I found the virtue of real-time versus social-media time.


Ask your own questions and provide your own answers.

As I mentioned, I became hyper-aware of my surroundings. My brain wasn't overwhelmed with intrusive social media posts and Tik Tok to blackholes. Instead, I started noticing the people, places, and things around me. If I had a question, I couldn't Google it right away. I had to think, reason, and ask more questions. It was a transformative process because I am more self-reliant rather than device reliant.


Even though living completely "unplugged" is unsustainable right now, I have found that I needed to form a new relationship with my iPhone for the sake of my mental, emotional, and physical health.


Cooking and baking, of course, is a great way to unplug.

Hope you enjoy these chocolate chunk cookies renamed because they were perfected while setting aside my phone.


Unplugged Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Simply free of gluten, dairy, and soy.

Ingredients:

- 2 3⁄4 cup of finely ground almond flour (if allergic to almonds, coconut flour would be an optimal substitute.)

- 3⁄4 tsp salt

- 1⁄2 tsp baking soda

- 2/3 cup + 2 tsp coconut oil

- 1⁄2 cup light brown sugar

- 1⁄2 cup granulated sugar

- 1 egg

- 2 tsp vanilla extract

- 1-1⁄2 cups chopped dark chocolate or chocolate chips


Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Mix almond flour, salt, and baking soda.

3. Using a hand or standing mixer, cream sugars and coconut oil. Then, add vanilla extract and egg.

4. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, mixing until completely combined.

5. Chop chocolate and fold into batter. Form 1-1⁄2 inch cookies, pressing down slightly.

6. Bake for 18 minutes, until golden brown.


Check out my own personal food blog, @officiallysimplyfree on Instagram!


Have you ever unplugged – for even a meal or for a whole day? Do you plan to try in 2021? Share your story with us below!

Katherine Touhy, first-year Northwestern theatre major





110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2018 by Northwestern Dining - Sustainability & Wellness Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page