top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNorthwesternDining

Chef Stephan B. Durand: Telling His Country's Story Through Food #BHMInspiredChef

Updated: Feb 11, 2020

Gerald Daye Jr. from our marketing team, reached out to Chef Stephan B. Durand, one of our chefs we are highlighting for Black History Month for our Culture Series. Take a second to check out this interview as Chef Durand tells the story of his inspiration, passion, and love for his food and culture.



Gerald: How did it feel to discover you were a chef for Northwestern Dining’s Black History Month Culture Series?


Chef Durand: It is always an honor and a privilege to be highlighted for my contribution and my work in the industry.


Gerald: Why do you think Black History Month is Important?


Chef Durand: Black History Month is extremely important because it gives us a chance to highlight the contribution of Blacks in America but in world history as well.


Gerald: What does your Haitian heritage mean to you?


Chef Durand: Haitian Heritage is also the story of Black people not only in the USA, but in the Americas. It is the story of resilience, the story of perseverance, the story of my home and of the first Black republic in the Western Hemisphere.



Gerald: Who or What Inspired you to become a chef?


Chef Durand: Many people start with their grandmother or their mother as part of their story, and in my case, the love of food started also in both of my grandmothers’ kitchen. But I didn’t choose to become a chef, the profession chose me.





Gerald: How did you discover your passion for food?


Chef Durand: At a very early age being raised by a single mother and living in the US, you have to learn to do things for yourself and cooking was definitely one of them.


Gerald: Are there any chefs of the past or present that play a role in inspiring you when you are in the kitchen?


Chef Durand: I have to say and will continue to say that my peers inspire me everyday to be better. However, a few chefs like Emeril Lagasse and Bobby Flay are two celebrity chefs in particular who have inspired me.


Gerald: Do you believe it is important to purchase local ingredients/foods? Why?


Chef Durand: Local ingredients are extremely important for the food ecosystem. It supports local farmers and creates business opportunities, but more than that, it helps to highlight the food of each region or locality. It gives a sense of connection.


Gerald: What are some of your go-to ingredients when making a great meal?


Chef Durand: Black Mushroom (djondjon) from Haiti, White Sweet potatoes from the island, Breadfruit, and Goat.



Gerald: Can you remember the first dish you made that was so good, it lead to you becoming a chef?


Chef Durand: Oh I can remember many of the first dishes I've ever cooked. My father use to make this great creole spaghetti with sausage, and I loved to cook my grandmother’s tuna rice casserole.


Gerald: What is your favorite recipe/dish that you love to make?


Chef Durand: Simple dishes are my favorite, something comforting that reminds me of home. One of my favorites has to be Salt Fish and Sweet plantains.


Gerald: Do you believe that food can tell a story? If so, what story do you try to tell in your dishes?


Chef Durand: Actually, Food is a Story. It tells the story of a people from beginning to end. It tells about the struggles, the story of family, and the story of where you come from.


Gerald Daye Jr.

Marketing Associate

Northwestern Dining

127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page